STAAR will include the following middle school assessments:

    • 6th grade Mathematics and Reading
    • 7th grade Mathematics, Reading and Writing
    • 8th grade Mathematics, Reading, Social Studies and Science
    • Students who are in Algebra I will be required to take the STAAR Algebra I EOC instead of the grade level STAAR mathematics assessment.

    Time Limits

    TEA established a four (4) hour time limit for the STAAR grades 3-8 assessments.  Extra time may be offered to students who meet specific eligibility criteria. 

    STAAR™ Performance Standards

    Students will have a score in one of the four categories below:

    • Masters Grade Level
    • Meets Grade Level
    • Approaches Grade Level
    • Does Not Meet Grade Level

    Click to view the TEA website STAAR Performance Standards